Hans J. Morgenthau Award


Dr. Henry A. Kissinger presents the Hans J. Morgenthau Award to Secretary of State Colin Powell

Established in 1981 to commemorate the seminal contributions made by Professor Hans J. Morgenthau to the theory and the practice of American foreign policy, the National Committee on American Foreign Policy presents the Hans J. Morgenthau Award. The person to be so honored is one whose intellectual attainments and/or practical contributions to United States foreign policy have been judged so exemplary in the tradition of Professor Morgenthau as to merit this singular award.

Recipients include the Honorable Angier Biddle Duke, the Honorable Sol Linowitz, the Honorable Henry A. Kissinger, the Honorable Jeane J. Kirkpatrick, the Honorable George P. Shultz, David Rockefeller, the Honorable James A. Baker III, the Right Honorable Margaret Thatcher, the Honorable Thomas R. Pickering, His Majesty King Hussein, the Honorable Colin Powell, the Honorable Richard N. Haass and the Honorable Martti Ahtisaari.

National Committee on American Foreign Policy

William R. Johnson of H.J. Heinz Company receiving the  Award in 2013

Global Business Leadership Award

This award is presented by the National Committee on American Foreign Policy to honor a prominent business leader whose efforts have contributed to setting an unimpeachable standard for globally oriented corporate citizenship promoting the national interests of the United States.

Recipients include Dr. Paul E. Jacobs, Mr. Muhtar Kent, and Mr. William R. Johnson.


George F. Kennan Award for Distinguished Public Service

ncafp awards petraeus

General David H. Petraeus accepting the George F. Kennan for Distinguished Public Service

Established in 1994 in honor of George F. Kennan, scholar, diplomat, and statesman, this award honors an American who has served the United States in an exemplary way and has made a seminal contribution to defining and illuminating the national interests of the United States.

Recipients include the Honorable George F. Kennan, the Honorable Cyrus R. Vance, the Honorable Paul A. Volcker, the Honorable Richard C. Holbrooke, Maurice R. Greenberg,the Honorable John D. Negroponte, General David H. Petraeus,  New York Police Commissioner Raymond W. Kelly, and the Honorable Karl W. Eikenberry.

William J. Flynn Initiative for Peace Award


Guests attending the William J. Flynn Initiative for Peace Award Dinner honoring Governor Hugh L.Carey and the Honorable Gerry Adams.

Established as the Initiative for Peace Award in 1997 in honor of William J. Flynn, NCAFP Chairman Emeritus, for his decisive leadership and daring diplomacy in spurring two cease-fires and promoting the peace process in Northern Ireland, the award, renamed in 2001, is presented to an individual who has worked tirelessly to resolve a conflict that has affected the national interests of the United States.

Recipients include William J. Flynn, the Honorable George J. Mitchell, the Right Honorable Dr. Marjorie Mowlam, Viola Drath, the Honorable Hugh L. Carey, and Gerry Adams, M.P.

21st Century Leader Award


John Delury accepts a Young Leader Award from Grace Kennan Warnecke.

The 21st Century Leader Award was created to recognize the achievements of individuals under the age of 40 who display a serious commitment to furthering the strategic policy interests of the United States. Through their professional or personal pursuits, these awardees have made important contributions to the international dialogue and demonstrate a promising future in the realm of American foreign policy.

Recipients include John Delury, Nathaniel Fick,  Joshua Cooper Ramo, Professor Nancy Walbridge Collins, Mr. Abraham Denmark, Ms. Marisa Porges, Ms. Farhana Qazi, Brendan R. McGuire, Esq., Ronan Farrow and Nicholas Thompson.

Upcoming Events